RISI Waivers for individuals

Waivers from the requirements of RISI for individuals

Applying for a RISI waiver

Where a waiver is required for an individual, the sponsor requesting the waiver must submit to an Authorised Person a completed NRFM-1496 Application for RISI Waiver form.

Sponsors requesting a waiver for individuals should consider the following before applying for a waiver to be issued:

  • the waiver will not be issued for a period of greater than five working days
  • a safety assessment has been done
  • all necessary safety arrangements will be in place to protect the person when in the Danger Zone
  • the person will be supervised at all times when in the Danger Zone by a person holding a RSW Card with relevant Worksite Protection competencies, and
  • the person will wear approved high-visibility clothing and other applicable PPE.

RISI waivers are not normally considered for workers who have completed their RISI training but are awaiting the issue of their card unless there are exceptional circumstances.

Individuals may have the RISI requirements waived for specific purposes and for limited periods of time by the following Authorised Persons:

Sydney Trains - Customer Service Directorate

NamePositionMobileEmail
Damien RussellSafety Professional0436 319 403Damien.Russell@transport.nsw.gov.au
Geoff WentSafety Professional0458 073 327Geoffrey.Went@transport.nsw.gov.au
John GandySafety Professional0428 883 824John.Gandy@transport.nsw.gov.au
Moses MouawadSafety Professional0477 726 288Moussa.Mouawad@transport.nsw.gov.au

Sydney Trains - Maintenance Directorate

NamePositionMobileEmail
Abdul ZreikaSafety Professional0400 882 085Abdullah.Zreika@transport.nsw.gov.au
Adam PullingSafety Professional0477 720 272Adam.Pulling@transport.nsw.gov.au
Blake CallenSafety Professional0477 731 009Blake.Callen@transport.nsw.gov.au
Dan CruzSafety Professional0429 079 155Daniel.Cruz@transport.nsw.gov.au
Danny GaratoSafety Professional0466 543 704Danny.Garato@transport.nsw.gov.au
Helen BroganSafety Professional0477 723 520Helen.Brogan@transport.nsw.gov.au
Hicham MerhiSafety Professional0456 622 150Hicham.Merhi@transport.nsw.gov.au
Jim Konomos Safety Professional0421 053 405Jim.Konomos@transport.nsw.gov.au
Joshua CawstonSafety Professional0477 326 179Joshua.Cawston@transport.nsw.gov.au
Kate LiggettSafety Professional0477 727 946Kate.Liggett@transport.nsw.gov.au
Lauren RhodesSafety Professional0477 720 267Lauren.Rhodes@transport.nsw.gov.au
Mitchell JonesSafety Professional0409 604 397Mitchell.Jones2@transport.nsw.gov.au
Natalie MorganSafety Professional0466 330 731Natalie.Morgan@transport.nsw.gov.au
Paul DavisonSafety Professional0477 716 487Paul.Davison2@transport.nsw.gov.au
Robert SerebakSafety Professional0417 662 373Robert.Serebak@transport.nsw.gov.au
Yogita Lyon Safety Professional0408 416 709Yogita.Lyon@transport.nsw.gov.au

Sydney Trains - Operations Directorate

NamePositionMobileEmail
Aaron PrestonSafety Professional0466 554 344Aaron.Preston@transport.nsw.gov.au
Evan JonesSafety Professional0412 104 418Evan.Jones@transport.nsw.gov.au
Tina TuntevskiSafety Professional0438 659 633Valentina.Tuntevski@transport.nsw.gov.au

NSW Trains - Customer Service Delivery

NamePositionMobileEmail
Hani BarhamDirector SEQR0429 364 672Hani.Barham@transport.nsw.gov.au
Dale MerrickDirector Network Services0427 809 242Dale.Merrick@transport.nsw.gov.au
George PetersNetwork Coordination Manager0438 463 817George.Peters@transport.nsw.gov.au