RISI Waivers for individuals

Waivers from the requirements of RISI for individuals

Applying for a RISI waiver

Where a waiver is required for an individual, the sponsor requesting the waiver must submit to an Authorised Person a completed NRFM-1496 Application for RISI Waiver form.

Sponsors requesting a waiver for individuals should consider the following before applying for a waiver to be issued:

  • the waiver will not be issued for a period of greater than five working days
  • a safety assessment has been done
  • all necessary safety arrangements will be in place to protect the person when in the Danger Zone
  • the person will be supervised at all times when in the Danger Zone by a person holding a RSW Card with relevant Worksite Protection competencies, and
  • the person will wear approved high-visibility clothing and other applicable PPE.

RISI waivers are not normally considered for workers who have completed their RISI training but are awaiting the issue of their card unless there are exceptional circumstances.

Individuals may have the RISI requirements waived for specific purposes and for limited periods of time by the following Authorised Persons:

Sydney Trains - Service Delivery Customer Operations

NamePositionMobileEmail
John GandySEQR Advisor0428 883 824John.Gandy@transport.nsw.gov.au
Mark AhalSEQR Advisor0414 169 675Mark.Ahal@transport.nsw.gov.au
John VauxSEQR Professional0466 525 562John.Vaux@transport.nsw.gov.au

Sydney Trains - Service Delivery Engineering & Maintenance

NamePositionMobileEmail
Danny GaratoManager SEQR Service Delivery0466 543 704Danny.Garato@transport.nsw.gov.au
Joshua CawstonSEQR Advisor0477 326 179Joshua.Cawston@transport.nsw.gov.au
Abdul ZreikaSEQR Professional0400 882 085Abdullah.Zreika@transport.nsw.gov.au
Adam PullingSEQR Professional0477 720 272Adam.Pulling@transport.nsw.gov.au
Frank SerraoSEQR Professional0476 838 944Francesco.Serrao@transport.nsw.gov.au
Geoff WentSEQR Professional0458 073 327Geoffrey.Went@transport.nsw.gov.au
Zan KurdiSEQR Professional0400 747 761Zan.Kurdi@transport.nsw.gov.au

Sydney Trains - Service Delivery Train Crewing, SP&I, other Enterprise functions

NamePositionMobileEmail
Hicham MerhiSEQR Advisor0456 622 150Hicham.Merhi@transport.nsw.gov.au
Aaron PrestonSEQR Professional0466 554 344Aaron.Preston@transport.nsw.gov.au
Vicky RiddettSEQR Professional0439 426 634Vicky.Riddett@transport.nsw.gov.au

NSW Trains - Customer Service Delivery

NamePositionMobileEmail
Hani BarhamProgram Director Safety0429 364 672Hani.Barham@transport.nsw.gov.au
Dale MerrickDirector Network Services0427 809 242Dale.Merrick@transport.nsw.gov.au
George PetersNetwork Coordination Manager0438 463 817George.Peters@transport.nsw.gov.au